White Chocolate Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

I wouldn’t describe myself as a picky person (minus the whole vegetarian thing). I’m not a huge fan of raw tomatoes (something about them just makes me want to gag) and I think celery is obnoxious and dominates all the flavor in a dish so you can’t taste anything but that stupid vegetable. Other than that, I’m a lover of all food. Now, I can’t say the same about other people. I wanted to bake something for one of my friends that I was going to visit in NYC and thought of a bunch of delectable different ideas. Death by chocolate perhaps? Or maybe some peanut butter buckeye brownies? Then he hit me with the unthinkable. The only chocolate he likes is white chocolate. I’m sorry but what?? It was almost grounds for friendship termination but I took a deep breath and did some research. It’s not that there aren’t plenty of good desserts with white chocolate it’s just the sheer blasphemy of it all. Instead of hyperventilating, like I wanted to do, I found the perfect recipe: white chocolate pumpkin snickerdoodles. Um, hello. After I got the approval from this kid (probably would have fainted in terror if he told me that he didn’t like pumpkin or snickerdoodles), I got to work.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (115g) unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup (50g) light or dark brown sugar
  • 1 cup (200g) granulated sugar, divided
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 6 Tablespoons (86g) pumpkin puree
  • 1 and 1/2 cups (190g) all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, divided
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice*
  • 1/2 cup (90g) white chocolate chips or chunks

I personally just used granulated sugar throughout the recipe as I didn’t have any light or dark brown sugar on hand.

Directions:

First melt the butter in the microwave then combine the butter, brown sugar (again I just used granulated sugar), and 1/2 cup granulated sugar together in a medium bowl. Whisk in the vanilla and pumpkin until smooth. Set this delicious looking mixture aside.

In a large bowl, toss together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, 1 and 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Add in the other bowl of ingredients and mix together. Fold in white chocolate chips as evenly as possible. Cover the dough and chill for a minimum of 30 minutes (most excruciatingly slow 30 minutes of your life).

I may or may not have eaten a substantial amount of the batter. It’s perfectly safe to do so as there are no eggs in the recipe and oh so delicious.

Preheat the oven to 350F degrees. Roll the dough into balls (I wanted large cookies so I made the balls fairly big). Mix together the remaining 1/2 cup of granulated sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Roll each of the dough balls generously (straight up coated these babies) in the cinnamon-sugar mixture and arrange on the baking sheet. Slightly flatten the dough balls because the cookies will only slightly spread in the oven. They should resemble the below picture:

White-Chocolate-Pumpkin-Snickerdoodles-4

Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes. They might not look completely done but if you keep them in for too long then they will dry out.

IMG_0652

These cookies blew my tastebuds out of the water. Holy crap were they amazing. Soft and chewy with the perfect balance of cinnamon and pumpkin and not overly sweet. Best of all? My super picky friend loved them.

Leave a comment